Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Orange Flower and Chamomile review

I’m just going to put this out there -I’ve never got on with the original C+P despite absolutely everyone telling me that they wouldn’t be without it and that they would throw themselves from a precipice should it ever be discontinued bleh bleh bleh.

I put far more effort than was needed into trying to figure out just why my skin hated it so much; it would go bright red and sting after even the most gentle cleanse. In the end I gave it to a friend and accepted that my skin will never get along with eucalyptus.

Orange Flower and Chamomile

Orange Flower and Chamomile

Then I had a chat with a lovely lady at Boots in Westfield a while back, who assured me that this (typically limited edition with orange flower and chamomile) would be a better match for my skin as it had absolutely no eucalyptus in it (I’ve had a good look at the ingredients list -everything else is exactly the same -how odd that just the one ingredient made my skin want to fall off.)

And -who knew!- My skin now LOVED it, and I finally could join the rest of the population in swooning about C+P.

It eventually migrated to the back of the cleansing shelf (yes, I have such a thing), and I only thought about it the other day when I saw the set of 3 C+Ps in John Lewis which made me immediately want to buy the lot.

So I dug out my (nearly depleted) bottle and gave it another go, and it is as good as I remembered.

Creamy goodness

Creamy goodness

I think the thing that people love so much about the formulation is that it’s fairly grippy -you have to work it into the skin quite firmly so you have time enough to give yourself a really good facial massage while you’re cleansing, and when it comes to wiping off with the muslin (shmuslin -I use a flannel), it doesn’t leave behind a film that you need another cleanse to get rid of. My skin feels calmed, soft and ready for serum when I’ve used it.

Now I just have to resist the lure of the limited edition trio…

Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish in all its various forms starts from around £14 for 100ml and is available HERE.

Info: Purchase

2 thoughts on “Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Orange Flower and Chamomile review

  1. Gosh I thought I was the only one who didn’t worship at the altar of cleanse and polish. I suspect i have issues with one of the essential oils used in the original so I’ll have to check that camomile version out as I do like cleansing creams (Pai is the best I’ve used).

    Like

    • For me I’ve narrowed it down to the eucalyptus oil -my skin just doesn’t like it. I’m not convinced of the efficacy of any cleanser needing essential oils to actually cleanse (the gentler oils can do that) as you are rinsing it off your skin within a minute, so there’s no real time for them to have an effect. The rosemary and eucalyptus are really there for window dressing in my opinion. However, I’m in the minority -LE is obviously on to something! Do check out the none Euc cleansers though -they really are the business. x

      Like

Leave a comment